Sunday Mornings

       BUTTERMILK PANCAKES

Another recipe I wanted to share.  Woke up and was in the mood for pancakes (although these are not a breakfast item we have often, hahaha).

BUTTERMILK PANCAKES

–  2 Cups Flour (wholewheat, unbleached or all-purpose)

–  1 tsp. Baking Soda

–  2 Tblsp. Baking Powder

–  1 tsp. Salt  (or no salt)

–  2 Tblsp. Sugar  (or 1 Tblsp. brown sugar)

*Combine all the above ingredients in a large bowl and whisk together.

Add:

–  2 eggs

–  2 Cups Buttermilk

Mix well and add,

2 Tblsp. Melted Butter  (or 1/2 Tblsp. Melted Butter and 1-1/2 Tblsp. Unsweetened Applesauce)

Pour onto a hot griddle or pan and flip when the pancakes bubble slightly.

*My Tip:  I omit the salt (I do not feel it is necessary), I only use 1 Tblsp. of the sugar (and I use brown sugar), I also used 1/2 Tblsp. Melted Butter and 1 – 1/2 Tblsp. of Unsweetened Applesauce.  I like to change recipes up often, to make them a little more healthier, it’s just my choice.  Pictured are blueberries on top of my pancakes, another thing is to add them right to the batter, about 1 Cup.  Unfortunately I have some finicky eaters here, Oooops!   (Makes about 18 medium sized pancakes, you can cut the recipe in half if you wish)).

Leave a Reply

