Bananny Muffins

I know when I am looking for something really quick to eat and something that will tide me over until snacks and lunch, I will grab one of my homemade Bananny Muffins from the freezer.  There is no butter or margarine used in this Recipe.  They are soooo yummy right from the oven…

BANANNY MUFFINS 

*Pre-Heat oven to 350 and line a muffin tin with muffin cups.

–  1 Cup Unsweetend Applesauce (you can use 1 Cup Butter or Margarine, I did not)

–  1  1/2 Cups Brown Sugar

–  4 Eggs, lightly beaten

–  2 tsp. Vanilla ( I prefer the real thing )

Method:  In a large bowl add the applesauce.  Next crumble in the brown sugar and mix well.  Mix in the lightly beaten eggs (you can omit the egg yolks, your muffins will appear lighter in colour, however I kept them in).  In a seperate bowl, measure the following ingredients.

–  5 Cups All-purpose flour ( I usually use half all-purpose and half whole wheat, but I have no more left of the whole wheat today, Oooops).

–  3 tsp. Baking Powder

–  1 tsp. Baking Soda

–  1 tsp. Salt  (I did not use any salt, I do not feel it is necessary).

–  6 Small Bananas, mashed

–  1  1/2 Cups Buttermilk

–  1 Cup Wild Blueberries  (optional)

–  1 Cup Dark Chocolate Chips  (optional)

Method Part 2:  Mix the Flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt (if you are using) in the seperate bowl and combine with a wire whisk.  Add about a third of the flour mix to the wet mix (applesauce mix) and mix well.  Then add about 1/2 the mashed banana to this mix and mix well.  Continue in this manner, you will have more flour than banana so when the banana is gone, begin using the buttermilk and continue mixing it in the same manner, 1/3 Flour and about 1/3 buttermilk.   End with the buttermilk mixing under and over.  Batter should be slightly thick.  This recipe is doubled, so you can always cut it in half.  I like  using this doubled recipe because I seperate the batter into three bowls and I add 1 cup of wild blueberries in one bowl, 1 cup of dark chocolate chips in another bowl and I keep the last bowl just plain banana muffins.  This is your choice, and you can even add nuts, which I sometimes do myself.  Guess it all depends on your mood!  Spoon the batter into the prepared muffin tin with liners and bake in the oven for approx. 20 minutes.  I turn the pan after 10 minutes so they are baked evenly.  Insert a toothpick and they should come out clean, careful not to overbake as they will be dry.  These muffins have no butter in them so they are more dense and make sure you cool them completely, if you don’t when you remover the paper liners the muffin will stick to them.  Sometimes I do not care because they are sooooo good when you eat them right from the oven.  Once they are completely cool, I label a freezer bag and in the freezer they go to enjoy any time.  The plain muffins are great sliced in half and topped with 1 tsp jam or peanut butter.  

This is not the healthest of healthy but I do not eat them every day people think because there is buttermilk in them it is fattening, absolutely not!  in one cup of buttermilk there is 1 gram of fat.  Anyhow, enjoy them they are easy to make and a quick breakfast or snack idea.

–  


Leave a Reply

