Buffet Side Table Given A New Life

Another project finally completed!!  Took many weeks (okay months…) to get done but I am so happy with the final look of my buffet side table.  Originally teak, yes it was nice, but hohumm kind of boring and I really loved the piece but I wanted a shabby chic look to it.  The preparation was what took so long, the sanding, the sanding and yeah the sanding (and I HATE sanding), BUT you have to do it, and look what you get, marrrrvelous.  Well I think it looks great anyways. 

I achieved this look by removing all the hardware (bought some new cool knobs in a brushed silver contemporary look),  I even took off the doors, I had to shave the doors upper edges because the doors just would not close properly.  I then removed those nasty metal floor protectors on the bottom of the legs (I don’t know who thought metal was going to save their floors?  I purchase some nice new plastic with felt nail-ons to replace them and boy are they nice, so much easier to move the buffet now).  Next was the sanding, and this part takes looooong, real long.  I started with an 80 grit sand paper and moved on to a 100 grit.  I re-sanded with a 150 and then washed all the buffet with a damp cloth to remove all of the dust.  I applied my first coat of “Painter’s Touch” satin paint in ‘Heirloom White’.  Water based paint so clean up is simple.  I applied a thin coat of paint, let it dry completely and sanded with a 400 grit sandpaper, remove dust with a damp cloth.  I repeated this step 3 more times.  Then I used a 150 grit sandpaper to sand off some of the paint here and there until I was happy with my “Shabby Chic” look.  I used a damp cloth to remove any dust and applied two coats of “Saman” satin water based varnish.  Again when the varnish was completely dry, I used a 600 grit sandpaper and lightly sanded the entire buffet and wiped it down with a clean damp cloth.   Should be smoother than a baby’s butt!  I lined the end cabinets with some pretty wallpaper.  I also lined the top flatware drawer with some black velvet.  Now to get started on the matching Dining room table and chairs  Whewwwww…   😀

Here’s my before and after shots:

Teak Buffet Side Table            "BEFORE"

Teak Buffet Side Table
“BEFORE”

cupcakesn 002

buffetreno 008buffetreno 004

Leave a Reply

